Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Poor Boy Fabry–Pérot interferometer?

AaronT

I want to build a Fabry–Pérot interferometer in order to study and understand the equipment and technology.

Fabry–Pérot interferometer Wiki

It is also an excuse to buy my first "Lab Laser".

I intend to use this device to attempt to measure gravity. (proximity or even orientation to a large object "mountain, peak, valley" should produce different repeatable results)

So I think I have found a candidate HeNe for this project.

Fleaybay 20mW HeNe

Rivem

Sounds like a cool project idea!

I'm not an expert on interferometers (especially not for gravity), but I wouldn't expect your application to work out the way you suggest. If you're expecting the ambient gravity to alter the light and change fringes in a measurable way, it's not going to happen without a ridiculously precise instrument.

You're much more likely to see the change in air temperature/currents on a small DIY interferometer than anything else. You'd also need a very, very stable setup if you don't want to see the results of your optics shifting the tiny amounts that they tend to.

That said, it is still plenty feasible to build many different types of interferometer at home. You don't even need really a gas laser if you just want to observe fringes.

WizardG

LPF Site Supporter
"You don't even need really a gas laser if you just want to observe fringes."

No, but a single mode laser is a very good idea.

Gravity? Pshaw. It's just the flat earth disc moving vertically through space right? :tinfoil: :crackup::na::na:

Rivem

"You don't even need really a gas laser if you just want to observe fringes."

No, but a single mode laser is a very good idea.