Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Pets and safty

Joed

Let me preface this by thanking all the good people here who promote safety with lasers. I gathered a lot of useful information about things I had no idea were problems and how to avoid damage to mine and people around me eyes.

Ok, I am new to these higher power lasers and have one of these coming in the 200mW verity.

PL 532nm 100-700

I am concerned about toying with this thing in the house with a cat around. We all know the attraction of lasers to cats. I'm not planning on using this as a cat toy and I am aware of the power of the beam but what if a cat or dog gets hit with a reflection off a wall? I am guessing it will cause similar damage to an animal as it will to a human. Will it cause damage if a pet looks at the spot on a wall if it is not reflected towards the pet? What about people for that matter?

As for myself I went with these safety glasses because I am not sure about the IR emissions from this laser and just want to play it safe.

Eagle Pair® 190-540nm & 800-1700nm OD5 Laser Safety Goggles

How safe is it to look at the spot of a beam on a wall or other things such as a sofa or rugs and what not? I am aware of the dangers of reflections back into my eyes and feel like the glasses will work for me but I am also curious about when it might be safe to not wear them. Assuming I am cautious. It seems most people do look at the beam from time to time and I am fairly certain that can't be seen with goggles.

I've spent hours reading these forums but I don't see much on when goggles are not needed. I don't see anything about precautions when pets are present.

Thoughts?

I guess you can't edit titles, I don't know how that got past me :)

Last edited: