Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Optical Power Sensor

Was trying to build my own laser power meter but I can't seem to figure out where people buy their sensors or what is the proper verbiage behind the sensors used in a laser power meter. The ones that are stocked are too expensive and have features i'm not super interested in. Where as the cheaper ones are generally sold out. Soo... i'd like to build my own.

I'm a EE hobbyist so the logistics behind powering and displaying the data wouldn't be too hard for me. I'm just kinda at a dead end if I can't get a sensor. I highly doubt this is the type of thing you "extract". Its also of no safety concern so I wouldn't think its highly regulated by governments such as the diodes. Thus I assume one should be able to find it on a site like Electronic Components Distributor | DigiKey Corp. | US Home Page or Mouser Electronics - Electronic Component Distributor right? Anyone got any ideas? Would greatly appreciate it. =)

If someone were to contribute i'd be fully willing to make a very nice detailed walkthrough on how to build your own ;)

Last edited:

Are you looking for a thermal or photoelectric power sensor?

Which ever works with a decent degree of accuracy? Not sure what laserbee and radiant alpha use. I'd like to build a meter equivalent to one of those. I got a pic board+microprocessor + power source... again, I just need a sensor that has a good degree of accuracy and can be bought off of a common electronics dealer such as digikey or mouser.