Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



Laser Pointer Store

ophir sensor head

alphadude

New member
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
31
Likes
0
Points
0
i found a ophir head and not sure if it is good i see most people using the 120 ca i think the model i found is

Ophir :model 150C-A-.1-C/ERB

60W maximum laser power (with a heatsink)
Smart Head: only connect +/- 12V and read the output as voltage. Pinout info is included.
Calibration: 0.1 Volts / Watt.
the Absorber is optimized for CO2 (10.6um) and Er:YAG (2.94um) lasers. Other CW or long pulse lasers should be OK as well (non Q-switched lasers).

as far as i know i see every one using the 120 ca i think hope i am not wrong with the model just want to know is this a good sensor head and what is the difference between the 120 ca version?
 

lasersbee

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
17,455
Likes
1,558
Points
113
How about a link to the head you want to get...

At .1V/Watt you will need an amplifier to get usable
readings and the Amp's gain will need to be set to
a calibrated output.

The 20-C OPHIR heads already have a built in Amp
that is already calibrated and outputs 1mV/1mW...


Jerry

You can contact us at any time on our Website: J.BAUER Electronics
 

alphadude

New member
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
31
Likes
0
Points
0
How about a link to the head you want to get...

At .1V/Watt you will need an amplifier to get usable
readings and the Amp's gain will need to be set to
a calibrated output.

The 20-C OPHIR heads already have a built in Amp
that is already calibrated and outputs 1mV/1mW...


Jerry

You can contact us at any time on our Website: J.BAUER Electronics
hi laserbee

this is the head i am talking about forgot to add the link this model has built in amp and already calibrated the person no need for a special display - just a voltmeter! and sent the seller 2 messages no reply.
Ophir Laser Power Meter Sensor for CO2 YAG 60W | eBay
 
Last edited:

Things

New member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
7,549
Likes
349
Points
0
The fact they state it has been coated for deep IR wavelengths makes me think it'd probably need at the least a re-calibration for visible wavelength lasers.
 

lasersbee

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
17,455
Likes
1,558
Points
113
hi laserbee

this is the head i am talking about forgot to add the link this model has built in amp and already calibrated the person no need for a special display - just a voltmeter! and sent the seller 2 messages no reply.
Ophir Laser Power Meter Sensor for CO2 YAG 60W | eBay
You will still need an amplifier to take the 0.0001V/mW reading to something that a VoltMeter can display in actual power without
needing to manipulate the reading.

This quote is false...
it simply needs a common voltmeter for displaying the power output.
I don't know of an inexpensive common Voltmeter with an accurate
resolution of Microvolts.

As Things has stated the Sensor was optimized/calibrated for wavelengths
in the far IR range.

the Absorber is optimized for CO2 (10.6um) and Er:YAG (2.94um) lasers
Why not get a head that outputs something more usable like
1mV/1mW...


Jerry

You can contact us at any time on our Website: J.BAUER Electronics
 

alphadude

New member
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
31
Likes
0
Points
0
You will still need an amplifier to take the 0.0001V/mW reading to something that a VoltMeter can display in actual power without
needing to manipulate the reading.

This quote is false...


I don't know of an inexpensive common Voltmeter with an accurate
resolution of Microvolts.

As Things has stated the Sensor was optimized/calibrated for wavelengths
in the far IR range.



Why not get a head that outputs something more usable like
1mV/1mW...

Jerry

You can contact us at any time on our Website: J.BAUER Electronics
i cant find any other sensor heads this is the only that shows up in ebay uk search result i am trying to find one europe but with no luck:(
 

ARG

New member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
6,987
Likes
575
Points
0
I dunno how well it would work, but you could use a 1$ Operational Amplifier with a gain of 10 to bring it up to 1mW=1mV
 

alphadude

New member
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
31
Likes
0
Points
0
I dunno how well it would work, but you could use a 1$ Operational Amplifier with a gain of 10 to bring it up to 1mW=1mV
were can i get this amplifier from any were in europe will do and still i am looking for a sensor head in europe if you can point me right direction it will be a big help.
 

lasersbee

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
17,455
Likes
1,558
Points
113
You will still need an amplifier to take the 0.0001V/mW reading to something that a VoltMeter can display in actual power without
What are you trying to say with that Copy/Paste....:thinking::thinking:


Jerry

You can contact us at any time on our Website: J.BAUER Electronics
 
Last edited:




Top