Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

O-Like Power Rock Green Torch

Hi, I am new to Laserpointerforums, a great learning tool. I bought a 100mw Power Rock Torch from O-Like and love it. Its waterproof so it has two o-rings on each end, both ends are smooth to turn, focusing is easy. The laser is very solid and well made with a rubber covered button. My only problem with O-Like is that they don’t give enough technical information about their products. I like lasers and wanted to know what type of internal workings it had. Through several emails with Susie, I found that it had an 808nm diode but no IR filter. At this point I was not able to get the laser module out. I needed to know if it had an IR problem, so I did the test shown in “NIST Technical Note 1668, A Green Laser Pointer Hazard”. The test was simple but I saw no IR. I thought DPSS lasers had IR problems. I finally got the module out and was very happy to see the MCA (Multiple Crystal Assembly). The laser module looked well made, thanks O-Like. I did the remote control trick to check for IR filters in the optics and found none. Then I took 4 pieces of exposed 35mm film (the end that’s really dark). They will not pass 532nm green but will pass IR (test it with your TV remote). Using an IR non-filtered digital camera, I was able to see the IR. It was surprisingly low, that could be why I did not see it in my first test.
My last test was for power levels using the HLPM ll Hobbyist Laser Power Meter from Bauer-ee.com. Great for under 200mw.