Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

O-like blu-ray 400mW 405nm Laser

Maros

Hey guys, first post so be patient :) I'm fairly new to lasers and have always entertained the idea of them. I've been looking at wicked lasers for quite a while then stumbled across this forum doing a bit of research, obviously i've ruled out using wicked lasers lol. O-like has this 400mW blu-ray laser. I was wondering what kind of input you all had for this being my first laser. My priority is power / burning power, and beam distance after that. I read quite a bit on the green laser forums, 400mW should be more than capable of burning, I'm not sure if Blu-ray / violet lasers are the same? any help, suggestions, or input would be greatly appreciated!

Kevlar

400mW of blu-ray will burn better than 400mW of green due to the shorter wavelength. So if burning is what you're after then this is a good choice.

Maros

Also, what kind of beam visibility will I be looking at with a 400mW blu-ray? I know 400mW greens were extremely visible, will a blu-ray be any less / more than that?

**Edit**

Another question, This laser is listed as a "laser torch", what is the idea behind it being listed as a "torch" ?

anselm

Beam of 400mw will be visible but MUCH less than the same power of green.
"Torch" refers to the style of the unit, as opposed to "pointer".