Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

nubie question on focusing laser

80cj

i'm brand new to laser pointers and have gotten into them as a result of another project i am working on. i am using simple laser pointers to mark a spot so i can visually see movement of the target (on video). i am trying to get a smaller dot at ~ 50'. the ones that i am using are from a 'laser parking system' that they sell at Lowes. i have taken them apart to better focus them, but the dot is still ~3/8" at that distance. i have been looking at buying ones that have adjustable focus, but i'm not sure what the best that i can hope for would be.

any help would be much appreciated.

thanks
shawn

OK.
Just about all laser pointers and anything else that uses a simple laser to produce a visible dot at a distance, uses just a single lens to collimate (focus) the point source of the laser light, into a beam.

This lens is focused to infinity, so as to give the smallest dot (beam width) for the longest distance.

This is different from the type of focus you would use with a magnifying glass and the Sun, where you move the glass to just the right distance from the objective to create the smallest dot you can. -One is about getting the best beam for any distance and one is about getting the absolute best beam for a particular distance.

Another way to look at it, is like a camera; if you focus it's lens to infinity, everything from two feet to a hundred feet will always be in focus, but at the loss of detail and any magnification. While if you zoom in to magnify and capture detail, you'll have to manually re-focus the lens for every distance, losing the "point and shoot" capability that focusing to infinity gave you.