Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Noob please help

Hi, I'm pretty new to lasers, I'm also studying to be a electrical engineer and I had a good amount of questions.
1) First off the TO-x what does it mean on a laser diode?
2) I got a TO-5 laser diode 1 Watt (just the diode) I already salvaged a couple of heatsinks from some old computers I had laying around and I will eventually make holes with my dremel tool. I need a housing unit, lens and also a control unit if I am correct. Did I miss something?
3) What control unit for a 1 Watt laser diode should I pick? (I want to use it to engrave wood and plastics)
4) I want to transfer the photons through a fiber optic and build a little pen, how do I assemble the fiber optic on the diode? Do I need special lens?
Also I would appreciate any links as a tutorial on these subjects AND links where to buy housing units and lens cheap (if it is ebay could you please tel me what to write because I cannot for the life of me get any results)

Thank you in advance for your time on this and also admins and moderators I am sorry if this thread is a repeat!

1. The ACTIVE part of a laser diode is a microscopic plane. The rest is substrate and a case that supplies power, protects the die, and removes heat. The case styles can be quite different. TO-56, TO-3, and c-mount are a few examples of the names given to the various packages.

Yes if you have a 1W LD then you are going to need an Aixiz module to mount it in to remove the heat and to hold the lens.

Yes you will need a special lens if you plan on using fiber optic cable.

Yes you can find many of these items you are going to need on eBay.

Right now the P3 drivers are sold out but there are others being made right now :)