Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

noob help please. RF 50mw FLX

I received my RF532-50mW-FLX yesterday and am very happy with it so far.

Fayona checked for me on the output power before it was shipped and was 66mw :) so Im happy with that.

I did notice that the bright blue power led was working and I needed to place my thumb over it when the unit was on and as I said it's very bright.

My question is, the blue led dont work any more, if it does it's a quick flash on and off or a small flicker. Does it affect the way the laser works?

Do I need to send it back?

Forgive my noob question, I'm just getting into the hobbie and love this site for all the knowledge it provides. I have looked around but couldn't find similar problems.

Thanks and happy pointing :thanks:
Here is a shot of the beam yesterday.

does this site have it's own image up-loader?

DSC00564814.jpg

If you try recharging the batteries, the blue LED will probably light up again. I've seen this with CNI units. Basically, the driver's priority is the laser output, not the LED.

So as the battery starts to run down, the LED, which likely isn't regulated (the laser diode, of course, is) dims or goes out before the beam is even affected.

So I'd really not worry about it. The indicator LED is mainly there for an attempt at FDA compliance as an 'emissions indicator' - I bet if you try it with fresh batteries, it'll light up again.

If you try recharging the batteries, the blue LED will probably light up again. I've seen this with CNI units. Basically, the driver's priority is the laser output, not the LED.

So as the battery starts to run down, the LED, which likely isn't regulated (the laser diode, of course, is) dims or goes out before the beam is even affected.