Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

New to the forum and lasers.

Hey everyone, I am new to all of this. I have tinkered around with some diodes out of old cd/ dvd burners, but don't really know what I'm doing. I always use caution and work safely. I would just like to know if you guys have any ideas on a good place to start. I would eventually like to do my own builds, but I'm unsure of what a proper starting place would be. Should I purchase a kit, ready to go, or go ahead and try a build? Any information would be helpful. I have minimal experience with electronics and how they work exactly, but do have some knowledge and am very good at researching and learning quickly. I have most of the tools, safety equipment, and components that I need( except for diodes).
Thanks.

Welcome to LPF, fellow Hoosier! :) What area of Indiana are you from? As for advice on getting started with building lasers, I personally can't give a lot of advice on that topic, as I'm just starting out myself, but I'll help as best I can. ^_^

Kits, which you mentioned, seem to be a relatively good way to ease the initial learning curve associated with building, and can help you familiarize yourself with how to properly assemble lasers prior to potentially diving into fully, or mostly, custom builds, though I've seen posts from plenty of people that dove right into almost entirely from-scratch builds. I'm not certain of what would usually be a good place to start, but I have seen it recommended that people new to building start out with simple 650nm, or possibly 405nm builds, but outside of that, I can't say much.