Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Need some explanations.

Tamm

Hello, im pretty new at electronics and got couple of questions. I have read many times different guides how to build laser driver. But theres still something i dont get it. So
1) Why do i need 5 ohm resistor?
2) Why do i need capacitor? (its necessary for giving consant power?)
3) I know i dont have to use potentiometer but if i wanna do it then as i read i have to use 100 ohm one but if i would use 1000 ohm it would be too big resistance? How to calculate to understund it?

Btw i still thinking of building 1w laser what needs approximatly 1-1,2 volts. So i need to use lm317 and it gives out 1,25 volts and if i need to calculate resitance then i just need to 1,25/1= it gives 1,25 ohms. why 5 ohms? I just cant get it.

Thanks.

Last edited:

1) The resistor value across the ADJ and OUT pins sets the current. The regulator will try to ensure 1.25V across these pins, so the output current will vary according to the resistance value. Ohm's law. 1.25V/resistance=current.

2) Capacitors in this circuit are to prevent oscillations. The LM317 usually won't oscillate even without caps, but the caps ensure stability.

3) The potentiometer resistance adds to the base resistance. 1000 ohms is too much, because the current would be 1.25mA across this resistance. This is too low for stable operation, and it is too low to drive any laser diode anyway.

...thinking of building 1w laser what needs approximatly 1-1,2 volts.

Those don't exist.

i need to use lm317 and it gives out 1,25 volts...