Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

My lens is stuck. Please help!

Hi LPF,

So, like a total noob, I screwed a G2 lens into my fancy new NUBM44 the wrong way around. Now it is stuck. I can unscrew it about a quarter turn before I feel the spring catch on something and stop turning further. I tried giving it a decent twist with a pair of pliers, but that didn't work, and I didn't want to apply too much torque to the thing. Is there any way to fix my mistake, or am I stuck with a totally unfocused diode now?

Luckily I got a few beam shots with the original 3-element lens before this happened, which I'll post in another thread.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• IMG_20170224_011713.jpg
    IMG_20170224_011713.jpg
    55.1 KB · Views: 116

BowtieGuy

LPF Site Supporter
I wonder if the spring is getting caught in the cut grooves in the lens housing?
It should come out, but you may damage your lens housing threads and possibly twist up the spring a bit.
Try grabbing the housing with some leather or rubber between it and your pliers.

Edit: Hopefully there isn't a bugger in the threads that has already damaged them, if so, removing will be difficult, and probably damage both the lens threads and the copper diode module.
The part about only moving 1/4 turn isn't encouraging.

Last edited:
Reactions: GSS
The spring is catching the lens retaining ring in the lens barrel. All you can do is keep in screwing it. It should come out. You might hear a few clicks from the spring end releasing its bind as you turn.

GSS

I think just what Bowtie said with the groove in the lens housing.
What ever you do I hope you have stopped and thought this out a bit before trying anything.