Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

My First Laser Driver

Yankee

I'm planning out my first build attempt. I'm great with LEDs and building circuit cards, but I know little about lasers.

Are there any regulated reference, off-the-shelf driver circuit cards available with optical feedback?

Studying the DDL driver is a great reference for driver construction. Also several users on this forum offer drivers for sale, in a kit form, or built. Rckstr has some good pdf files on building his drivers,

Cheers
Dave

Yankee

I'm still learning to navigate this site and so far I've come across only one built driver. It looks like a good regulated driver, but I don't know if it has the optical feedback.

Are any of the kits or built drivers offering regulation with the optical feedback? If so, where do I find them? Thanks in advance!

~ Dave

Yankee

So, it seems as though I've been reading some old information and please correct me or confirm. I just read the data sheet for the Sony SLD1239JL-54 diode and it says that the third pin is not connected. Have laser diodes evolved enough to not need optical feedback? Please remember that I'm an old dawg teaching myself new tricks.

~ Dave

I cannot think of any builds I have seen here that use optical feedback..... we just tend to use shared experience on the maximum current input, there are brave souls here who have blown any number of LD's on our behalf ;)

A constant current drive, built and set up correctly, will do the trick for you.....good luck with your voyage of discovery, all the info you need is here.

Regards rog8811

Yankee

Thanks Rog. I intend on not blowing "many" LDs, but I guess we'll see.