Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

My first DIY laser diode array - honing the details

Hello everyone,

I am very new to electronics but I have done a lot of research and would like your assistance on finalizing my setup.
My goal:
An array of 16 evenly spaced 635nm 5mw laser diodes that can hold that wattage and wavelength for 30 minutes uninterrupted

Things I know I need:
16, 635 nm 5mw continuous wattage diodes
a laser driver
a power supply
a housing to hold the diodes

I understand there is great variation in diode quality but at the same time I am not looking for top end diodes. I plan power this array with AA batteries and I am only interested in a current regulating driver since cost is a large factor.
My questions are:
Can I use one driver to regulate all the diodes if i link them in parallel and the driver can handle the wattage and amperage?
Where can I purchase cheap but reliable 635 nm diodes and laser drivers? I have seen prices from 2 dollars to 200 dollars per diode.
Since I am looking for a cheap driver, how can I make sure it sends out the correct amerage?

Any other useful information or feedback is appreciated. Thanks everyone!

We can help you a lot better if you tell us what you're trying to build.

Yes and listen to Cyparagon. He knows what he's talking about. If you don't understand a term or phrase then don't be afraid to ask what it means too.

We can help you a lot better if you tell us what you're trying to build.

I'm basically just trying to build a laser array that I can use in low level laser therapy. It needs to be able to give out 635 nm and cover a large area of skin (maybe around 50 cm^2) resulting in around 2-3 joules per cm^2 after 30 mins. Thanks!