Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

MMC Design (For HV applications) - a question of max ratings

Hey everyone,

I'm gearing up to build a SGTC with the NST I grabbed from Grenadier, and I've run in to a little question. Sometimes things are so simple that you doubt if you've got it right, this is one of those cases, and I figure the best way out of verify it with an outside source. I'm not new to HV, but I am new to TC's. I'm used to CW based HV stuff.

Anyway, when designing a MMC that you're matching for resonance (or just above resonance, as with a SGTC, to prevent voltage runaway during the event the SG fails to fire) you need to overshoot the mark in both capacitance and maximum voltage rating.

My NST has an output impedance of 250mOhms so the MMC will be resonant at 0.0106uF, and needs to withstand a repetitive Vpk of 10500V. I'm shooting for 0.011uF and 12kV for posterity. I could go for 15kV but then the cost rises significantly.

The question then is... which voltage rating to use, the Vdc or Vac one? I thought, it must be obvious.. use the Vac one as your tank cap is across an AC source, right? Yet I can't find polypropylene film caps with a higher Vmax (Vac) than 500Vac! This is very low, wth is going on? This is why I started to second guess myself. The same caps which are rated 2000Vdc are only rated 500Vac.

I'm currently looking at these:
940C20S22K-F Cornell Dubilier Polypropylene Film Capacitors

So, did I goof up, or am I only finding shitty caps? At $2/cap if I have to make a MMC out of 500Vac caps and a Vpk target of > 12kV I'l cost $576!!! (288x $2 @ 12 strings of 24caps to get the needed >0.011uF @ >12kVmax). With 2000Vac rated caps it would only cost $36 (18 x $2 @ 3 strings of 6 caps).