Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Microsoft Windows 7 Beta?

Kenom

so the release happened today. I'm in the process of downloading the beta. Has anyone else gotten a chance to test this and what are your impressions?

I've been running an alpha copy on one machine for a few months... seems much better than vista to me, though I was no fan of vista. So far the only issue has been lack of driver availability. This may be fixed with the beta release however.

:)

I've never been a Microsoft basher figuring business is business but since I also run UNIX and Linux machines I see the huge difference between a real operating system (UNIX and Linux) versus the bloated Microsoft products. An operating system is designed to do one thing and one thing only and that is to provided the software subsystems to be able to access and operate computer hardware and low level programming from high order software to achieve some end. I have a tough time finding much in the Microsoft operating system code that is actually related to the HAL (hardware abstraction layer). Their code is mostly layers and layers of fluff surrounded in layers and layers of code fixes from previous versions of Windows and various builds in the current version. Look hard enough and you will find code from Windows 95/3.0/3.11. So in their attempt to be all things to all people and maintain their near monopoly they have created a behemoth; a fat, sluggish, resource hungry system that doesn't do anything really well. Every time Moore's law cycles Microsoft is there to eat up the processing power just to run the OS.