Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Making my First Laser...

Tagg

So, I've been interested in lasers for a while and I've decided to make a simple one for an interesting summer project. I'm no electrician, but I have messed with electronics a bit.

I've looked around on these forums (and youtube) but I'm not able to find a guide showing which each part does and how they work together. Maybe it's just me...

Help would be appreciated! I know most of you have done this for a while. =)

Thanks,
-Zachary

Last edited:

Tagg

I've looked around quite a bit and discovered some very interesting information. I also have a couple of questions. So, here goes...

I found a camping flashlight that we haven't used in a while, so I decided to use it as a host for my laser.

4736914445_192d5d3cd9.jpg

I plan to use a lava drive, so I need minimal voltage for a red diode. I'm looking into Li-ion batteries that are 3.7 volts...so I would only need one right? That would mean I have more space for the electronics since I want to cut part of the flashlight off as shown here...

4736945383_0c8e5864c6.jpg

Is it a good design? Enough room for an Axiz module, diode, lava driver and the heatsink? I have a feeling it will because of the ability to fit everything in a pen host, but I'm still not sure because of the height room.

I'm not sure where I'm going to get the diode from...I don't feel like paying for one when I could probably get some somewhere around here. We have a broken dvd player, so I might just use that..or look on freecycle for some broken player/burners.

Next question...