Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Low Divergence laser

Hey guys i'm new to the whole laser thing. I'm working on a project for work creating a vehicle alignment system and need a fairly low cost low divergence laser. I purchased Calpac CP-TIM-218-4D-650 laser and the dot is just too big. I am shining the laser at a measurement plate that is about 120" from the laser. Any suggestions/pointers? Thanks!

ARG

If you don't mind a big dot, you could use a beam expander. It increases the beam size, but decreases the divergence.

Sorry I thought that low divergence meant a small dot? Basically all I need is the smallest dot possible at 120"

Try a decent 5 or even 1mW green laser pointer first.

Laserglow, or optotronics won't let you down.

Divergence is a measure of how fast the laser beam spreads out, so your understanding is basically correct.

The thing is, you don't really need super low divergence to have a small dot at 120 inches. Nor do you need power, since the dot may appear bigger simply by virtue of being brighter.

At 120 feet, divergence would be a factor though, in which case a red laser pointer would work well.

Last edited:
Thanks for the input. The laser I have now makes about an 1/8" dot even at 120". I am looking for an extremely small dot since this is for a measurement device and I will be reading the measurement based off of a laser pointed at a scale. Forgot to include all this info in the original post, my mistake

1/8" is a bit big. Still I were you, I would experiment with a couple of cheap, but quality 5mW greens first.

If that's not enough, you may need to increase power slightly and look into getting a beam expander as ARGLaser suggested. The beam diameter at aperture would increase, but the dot would be much smaller.

DrSid