Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Looking forward to being an active member!

Hey everyone, Im Jay,

I am a wireless network architect for an international company out of Pittsburgh, PA

I am working on my first laser build now. a 3W 445nm handheld.

Already hit my first snag, my 35mm copper heatsink from RickTrent4 on Ebay is a little too big for the host i tried to use:

WAYLLSHINE(TM) C8-T6 5-Mode XML CREE LED 1000 Lumen Flashlight Torch for Riding, Camping, Hiking, Hunting & Indoor Activities

From amazon.

so I have purchased a 3800lm 3x Cree XML Xm-l T6 LED Flashlight Torch and 18650 Rechargeable Batteries + Charger (Trustfire)

in the hopes that it will work with that heatsink.

I am waiting for the 9mm diode, 2.4 amp driver, and g2 lens to come from DTR Laser's... Jordan has been awesome in answering my questions and shipping my equipment quickly.

A new soldering station is on my wish list. I am using a simple handheld right now.

I plan to post a build post when I begin. Critique/ comments are appreciated.

Allan (Pi R Squared) has been great, he cleared a few things up earlier for me regarding Diodes.

Anyways thanks for having me! I look forward to getting to know everyone.

SteveT

Hi Jay,

Welcome to LPF and the very best of luck with your build!

starting out small I see.... lol

one member who is helpful would be JayRob- and he machines his own aprts to so..also flamipyro and Mccrouse- have lathes etc.

there are some notable laser folks in your state- mariomaster and Jeffthe00 are but two- jeff is more into handlelds tha MM who builds projectors and CNC cutters 3-d makers - lots of KOOL stuff.

BUT Most notable you may know Dr Sam- keeper of the 'laser bibles'