Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Looking for help with a lite-on 4x laser

I'm looking to dissect sed drive and build myself a laser pointer type thing. I'm experienced with electronics and taking things like this apart, so that shouldn't be a problem, but I am really new to lasers. I'm really glad I stumbled upon this forum, it looks like you guys can get me pointed in the right direction.

Can anyone give me some detailed information on this diode? Does anyone have experience with it?

Where can I find a driver for it, or info on haw to build one.

What would it take to get all three lasers in it running (CD, DVD, and BR)? It would be neat to be able to switch, especially to IR for night vision applications. Would this require a separate driver for each? I'm assuming they wouldn't need separate optics because they are already used together in the drive.

Thanks for any help!

cust11

First off.. Welcome to the forums!

Now to answer your questions:

Information on the 4x: It is stuck between the PHR and the 6x. I would go up or down one depending on what type of power you are looking for (disregard my signature, my diodes have death wishes). For a PHR 110mA and shoot for about 175mA on a 6x. Fewer people have done the 4x so support may be difficult. For its current I would say somewhere around 140mA being a guess.