Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



Laser Pointer Store

Looking for Good Lab Style power supply

SLPbum

New member
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
250
Likes
16
Points
0
I thought I'd ask here first before buying.
Done some searching first of course.
Theres quite a few out there thought, ranging from 80-120 bucks.
Im looking for at least Dual output, and adjustable.
Here is one for example.
Precision Lab PS305D Variable 30V 5A DC Power Supply | eBay

Thanks for any thoughts, comments..


RDCII
 

Tonga

New member
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
544
Likes
36
Points
0
I recently purchased a Mastech GPS-1850D and I like it a lot! You may have already seen them if not check em out! Good luck:)!
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
5,462
Likes
551
Points
0
You did say you were looking for a good one here is a good one it's what I use and it's programable so you can set the output where you want it and not accidently blow up something.
it will supply you clean power at 0-30 volts up to 5 amps and is made by a very reputable company that has been doing this for many many years if you want a good one this is it !
It's a Agilent U8002A
 

jcranmer

New member
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
2,110
Likes
120
Points
0
You did say you were looking for a good one here is a good one it's what I use and it's programable so you can set the output where you want it and not accidently blow up something.
it will supply you clean power at 0-30 volts up to 5 amps and is made by a very reputable company that has been doing this for many many years if you want a good one this is it !
It's a Agilent U8002A

This may truly be a dumb question, but I don't know much about these type of power supplies. With something like this can you set the voltage and then set a max current so you can direct drive a diode without damage?
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
5,462
Likes
551
Points
0
Yes you can ! you can for instance set the voltage to a max output of 5.11 volts and a max current of 700ma and no more will come out even if you dead short the output of the supply.
This way you can connect any diode to it no matter what and never have to worry about bumping a knob and blowing your expensive diode :)

This may truly be a dumb question, but I don't know much about these type of power supplies. With something like this can you set the voltage and then set a max current so you can direct drive a diode without damage?
here is a picture of the whole front the big knob on the right will set both current and voltage.
 
Last edited:

jcranmer

New member
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
2,110
Likes
120
Points
0
Nice! I've really got to stop looking at all this stuff though. I'm like a kid in a candy store. Although the price isn't that bad. Adding to my wish list. :D My Wife isn't going to be happy with how long my list has become.
 

Xplorer877

New member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
1,060
Likes
52
Points
0
I thought I'd ask here first before buying.
Done some searching first of course.
Theres quite a few out there thought, ranging from 80-120 bucks.
Im looking for at least Dual output, and adjustable.
Here is one for example.
Precision Lab PS305D Variable 30V 5A DC Power Supply | eBay

Thanks for any thoughts, comments..


RDCII
Hey bro which did you end up going with, do you like it? I'm in the same boat as you.
I'm looking for a nice one with out breaking the bank.

Maybe 120-140$ tops.

-Tony
 

SLPbum

New member
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
250
Likes
16
Points
0
Still kicking a few around in my head.
Been saving up for a Street legal dune buggy, so I can tear up some of this rig roads we have for the rigs. They beg to thrashed apond. Thats about my budget to, is bout 100-250. Looking more like 200+ for a decent one. I know as soon as I buy one, Ill see another one I want instead.. happens to me all the damn time. Mastech seems to be the leader when I search. So im going that way Im thinking..

RDCII
 

Xplorer877

New member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
1,060
Likes
52
Points
0
Yeah I think I want to buy a used one. The high quality supplys are built like tanks and will work great even if there a few years old.

I really don't need something super fancy but some of these cheaper Chinese supplys have terrible power-on overshoot and the pots are poor quality. If you power on the device it'll output a few volts above what it's set to for a ms or so, and thats enough to fry a diode. It's not a big issue but you'll never wanna connect anything before you turn it on.

I like HP Agilent Supplys.

-Tony
 




Top