Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



linking "two" home networks with different IP ranges

ixfd64

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
1,149
Points
48
Any network experts here? I may need your expertise.

First, a brief primer on our home network: we have a 2Wire router ("home") acts as a gateway between our network and the Internet. Most of our devices have an 192.168.1.x IP, but a few others use 192.168.101.x under a Netgear router. I am basically trying to set up the network so that everything can communicate with each other.

And here's the problem: the 192.168.101.x devices can ping the 192.168.1.x network, but not vice versa. The Netgear router has an internal IP of 192.168.101.1, but identifies as 192.168.1.82 to "home." The former shows up as "active" on the web interface for the "home" router, but neither it nor anything on the 192.168.101.x network could be accessed unless I hook my computer to that network. However, it works perfectly the other way around.

I've configured the Netgear router to not block outside requests, but it doesn't seem to help. Do I need to route packets from "home" to the Netgear router? Do I need to change some subnet settings? Or is there something else I'm missing?

Anyways, I've attached a rough topology of our network below:



Think you can help me out?

Thanks in advance.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: ped



bobhaha

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2009
Messages
3,255
Points
63
I am by no means a networking expert... but I have a feeling the netgear router is not configured correctly. There should be a subnet with 2 available IP in which the two routers are connected. The outgoing packets should be forwarded to the incoming IP of the other router and vice versa.

That's pretty much the extent of my knowledge in networking... but I will get a friend of mine to look at the thread and I'll get back to you.
 

Kmor2004

New member
Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
292
Points
0
Look into using DD_wrt third party router software..I have 2 cisco wireless routes, which would both come up as 192.168.1.1, but the one on my entertainment center is configured as a wireless bridge, still using the same 192.168.1.1 as my main router so it ends up being a 4 port wireless switch.

Just an idea for you.
 

ndrew2505

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 23, 2008
Messages
2,824
Points
48
i run dd-wrt on linksys wrt54-gl routers. need to find a good n router that can run dd-wrt but most devices still use g so im not really worried about it yet.. dd-wrt is an awesome firmware though.. i would highly recommend it.
 

ped

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
4,920
Points
113
"Teh internets"

Genius :crackup:
 

Bionic-Badger

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
5,461
Points
83
Is your DI-524 wireless router set up in bridge mode so that it just passes traffic through and relies on the Netgear to provide the sub-net routing and DHCP? To that point, you could even set up the Netgear to be in bridge mode as well, so that only Home delegates what devices receive what IP.
 




Top