Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Laws and purchase?

So as of now I live in the USA... In Illinois to be xact... I know that a 125mW green is not legal to have. How do I go about purchasing from NovaLaser or Optitronics and have the laser delivered to my house and not get in legal trouble? Everyone here speaks English and I'm sure there have to be some people who live in he USA and still have these lasers.

I'm also kind of new to purchasing things online so sorry if it's a dumb question.

daguin

baires0314 said:
So as of now I live in the USA... In Illinois to be xact... I know that a 125mW green is not legal to have. How do I go about purchasing from NovaLaser or Optitronics and have the laser delivered to my house and not get in legal trouble? Everyone here speaks English and I'm sure there have to be some people who live in he USA and still have these lasers.

I'm also kind of new to purchasing things online so sorry if it's a dumb question.

Purchasing and owning a 125mW unit is NOT illegal. Lasers above 5mW just need to have the FDA approved safety features and certificate. If you buy it from Nova or Opto, AND choose a model with FDA approval, you will be fine. Otherwise, you takes your chances like everyone else.

Peace,
dave

I'm not sure what methods Nova / Opto use to ship, but make sure to NOT use EMS shipping if you choose a laser that is not FDA compliant. EMS shipping seems to always be searched... the slow methods like Hong Kong Post or registered mail are less likely to be searched (but still could be)

good luck

ok so like for the x125, is that FDA approved? i dont see that written anywhere on the product's page on Nova's site.

baires0314 said: