Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Lasers in the sky!?! (google earth sky).

Tre

Hello all! I am just getting into the hobby having never owned a more powerful laser than a cheap "<5mw" green pen, I have a rayfoss waterproof 30mw on it's way (including goggles) that I will be sure to do a review on. I am excited to be a part of this community and learn way too much about obscure laser parts and science :p.

With that introduction out of the way, I would like to address something that I noticed many years ago on google earth's sky feature: what appears to be a
large number of various red, blue, and green laser beams showing up in a large portion of the sky (along with a mind boggling number of galaxies).
This is confusing to me, I am not convinced that these are real lasers IN SPACE[/COLOR]
Because Rayleigh scattering wouldn't work so well with so few molecules in space to scatter the light (unless we had some super-advanced aliens with multi-gigawatt lasers shining around)
[Insert "Ancient Aliens" meme]
Most of them are short and show little divergence but some change size and seem to cover multiple passes of a telescope.
Sorry if this has already been covered but does anyone know what these could be?
*There are too many of them to be a childish prank by a google employee
*They are not aligned with borders of photos so I think that we can rule out computer errors
*I would think that the beams would have to stay still to show up in a photograph
*There are no yellow beams that I can see and I think that they try to avoid the paths of other telescopes with guide stars (Searing the Sky to See the Stars)
The only thing I could come up with is that there are some trolls with high powered lasers and tripods shining above observatories to try and prank them.
:wtf: