Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Laser eye protection question.

I'm getting a 30mw green laser and want to know if it's safe to view the dot on surfaces such as walls and floors without eye protection. I know to avoid direct exposure by either pointing the laser directly at myself or reflecting the beam back at myself. I know this is a very noob question, but I have no experience with anything more powerful than an office depot pointer.

Anything over 5mW can damage the eyes giving the right circumstances I wouldn't recommend it, if you do wanna look at the dot/beam look at it from a distance an make sure there's nothing it could reflect off of, tho I could be wrong and correct me if I am :) always be careful stay safe

Anything over 5mW can damage the eyes giving the right circumstances I wouldn't recommend it, if you do wanna look at the dot/beam look at it from a distance an make sure there's nothing it could reflect off of, tho I could be wrong and correct me if I am :) always be careful stay safe
Agree. Anything more than 5mw need laser goggles. It doesn't matter if the beam that might hit your eyes is direct or not, no matter what , even if the beam that might hit your eye is indirect, ur eyes will still be affected

You only got 2 seeing balls, treasure it well. If you gt blind because of not wearing goggles, it is not worth it

Yes at 30mW this will be safe, but not up too close, and be very careful of reflective surfaces like glass or metal.

Alan

Agree. Anything more than 5mw need laser goggles. It doesn't matter if the beam that might hit your eyes is direct or not, no matter what , even if the beam that might hit your eye is indirect, ur eyes will still be affected