Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Laser Circle

Hi All,

I am a complete novice when it comes to lasers, however I have come up with an idea that requires a laser and I thought someone here might be able to help me out.

I am looking for a small battery powered laser that can project a circle. The laser will be positioned around 1 meter from it's target surface and will need to project a circle of approximately 1 meter in diameter. The strength of the laser beam will not need to be overly high, though the projected circle must be visible on the target surface in direct sunlight. I live in Australia, so the laser must pass our laws as well. :(

I have read a bit about diffraction gratings and have done a heap of Googling, but I can't find what I'm looking for. It would be much appreciated if someone here could point me in the direction of a laser I can purchase.

You wouldn't have to use a defraction grating, it could be as simple as a laser reflected off a spinning mirror on a small electric motor. Just a thought.

Howdy and Welcome to the Forum :wave:

The diffraction grating would be your best choice for making a circle but
for sure a spinning motor will do the job also it's just harder to set up than
putting a diffraction grating in front of your lasers lens.

I would tell you to look at the Aixiz web site http://www.aixiz.com/
as I do believe they have the grating you are looking for ;)

As far as being a legal powered laser and being able to see it in day light in
Australia I doubt that is going to happen, maybe with a green laser :thinking:

Once you spread the beam around in a circle <1mW is not going to be very bright :cryyy:

Last edited:
Flaminpyro, thank you for your suggestion of Aixiz. They have a circle lense kit that looks like it's exactly what I need.:)