Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Laser beginner

Hi all,

This is my first post on this forum and i'm also new to lasers.
After looking around to buy my first one i've checked Ebay, WL, DL and Nova.
Quality and range are the most important but +100mW models are too expensive for now.

I want to use it for experiments with optics (and some burning)
The beam should be visible indoors with lights on without smoke or outdoors with light polution from the city.

I'm thinking about the Viper X-85 from Nova + Lens holder and optics (and of course eye protection)

Will this be the right decision to begin with?
And is this also suitable for star pointing?

btw. i live in the Netherlands but i guess that should not be a problem with shipping

l0l i never thought about pollution effecting beam visibility. i wonder how bright peoples lasers are in like china

Things

i don't think you will be able to see a laser under 400 mw outside at daytime

A 5mW greenie will be the best to star point because it doesn't kill your night vision. And about the high powered lasers, DO NOT BUY AN EBAY LASER! They are wayyy under powered and you won't get what you thought. But an X85 is a GREAT decision for a good burning laser, NOVA will give you a great unit. And they ship internationally so shipping won't be a problem. But about the beam thing, you will see the beam pretty good in lighted conditions, but not in full brightness. and also your gonna need WATTS of power if you want to see the beam outside in daylight. Maybe some other members with X85's (cough cough SENKAT ;) ) can give you a good description of the beam brightness in lighted conditions.

I'm not expecting to see it with full daylight (maybe with heavy clouds)

The beam should be visible indoors with lights on.