Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Kosuki

Kosuki

Hello,
I am Kosuki. I live in San Luis Obispo, CA. USA. I am a full time student. I have just recently found an interest for lasers. I know nothing about them an of course am buying the Arctic Laser :eg: as my first laser.
I do not plan to get information I need and drift through.
I plan to start, learn, and become a community member.
If someone could get me started in the right direction for education on lasers it would be great.
I have , No idea about lasers. I dont even know what a good wave length is and a bad one, an what not. Again I will thank you in advance for any help I may get.

Kosuki

Hi Kosuki, welcome to LPF, and hope you have a good time here.

I'm sure laserbee or other members will give you links of threads you should have a look at, but unfortunately, one of the links will be "33 reasons why not to buy from Wicked Lasers."

I personally agree, and if you already haven't bought the Arctic, most us us will tell you not to.
Instead, look into the buy/sell/trade section of the forum and there are many better lasers than the Arctic; higher quality, more powerful, cheaper, etc.

To get you started, a wavelength essentially determines the color of the output. There isn't a good or a bad wavelength, but there can be a favorite. 445nm corresponds to blue, and 532nm to green, and 635 to red, etc. A useful link is here.

Again, enjoy your stay here.

Cheers! :beer:

ped

Just to echo ryanhoh3..

Most people will steer you away from the Arctic. There are lots of sellers in the Buy/Sell/Trade section of this site that will supply you with a very high quality, and more powerful laser at a bargain price.