Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

KES 400A laser

I'm Making my first Blu-ray laser and i got some KES 400A diodes cheap since i don't want a burning one yet, since this is my first build i didn't wanna fry a 60$ diode, so i got a few for 20$.

What is the max mW on these diodes and does it still drop 6 Volts across even tough its a low power diode?

daguin

Reaver789 said:
I'm Making my first Blu-ray laser and i got some KES 400A diodes cheap since i don't want a burning one yet, since this is my first build i didn't wanna fry a 60$ diode, so i got a few for 20$.
What is the max mW on these diodes and does it still drop 6 Volts across even tough its a low power diode?

The diode needs 5-6 volts. You can safely run them up to ~38mA of current.

Peace,
dave

daguin

Reaver789 said:
wow fast response, thank you Dave.

You're welcome. I used to use this diode in my lecture pointers.

Be fast with your soldering ;)

Peace,
dave

These diodes are very ESD sensitive. Make sure you're grounded whilde handling it. ;)

Xer0

a few for 20$ ??? i was watching an ebay auction until today thad had 6 for 20 :-/

you got it?

i wanted but missed it (didnt take care of the time zone) :(

Xer0 said:
a few for 20$ ??? i was watching an ebay auction until today thad had 6 for 20 :-/

you got it?

i wanted but missed it (didnt take care of the time zone)  :(

Yeah i got that one, he has more than 50 in stock, PM him and im sure he'll sell you some.

Btw, i did buy now hehehe.

daguin said:
The diode needs 5-6 volts.  You can safely run them up to ~38mA of current.

Peace,
dave

Is the red laser on that diode usable, and if so, does it still need 5-6 volts, it would be cool to have a 2 in one laser, even if the red LD doesn't have that much power.

daguin

Reaver789 said: