Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Just ordered first laser

ads813

an Aries 20

anyone have one? im still waiting for it to come. and i want to know what i should expect it to be like :)

Well enjoy that ~30 mW output power! Although, it seems to me you could have saved about $120 and gotten a Galileo then turned up the pot and had the same output and none of the delay switch, key, ind. light etc. which some think is an unnecessary hassle. By the way, they are having a Boxing Day special, and the prices are 25% off. So now, for about $60 you can have the Galileo! So make that a $140 savings! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

ads813

true...im new to lasers though, im not sure if i will start modding lasers right away

pot modding is risky business... u r basically making the diode run at a higher current than its meant to do, it really decreases its lifespan. if you want more power, u have to buy a diode that is meant for that power.

ads813

thanks

So should I expect any burning power out of this thing?

I ordered the laser to blind the squirrels off of my bird feeder and to be able to turn off street lights ;) but should I expect any burning power from the Aries 20?

PROB. not, but ive never had any experience with the nexus, so i can't say for sure. dx 20's i know for sure can do a little burning, but that's probably because they have no ir filters.