Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Issues with driver circuit for M140 laser

Hello,

I have been all over the internet trying to find a good schematic for a driver to power my M140.

I've found this circuit and ordered the components to build it, but am having issues getting anything to work.
Two watt blue laser driver 445nm - BOGIN, JR.

I'm no electronics expert by any means, but thought I could follow the schematic exactly with positive results. This has not been the case.

I have soldered all connections exactly like the schematic (this could be the problem because there may be some things that are just assumed for experienced electronics people and left out of the schematic. I have literally soldered it together like the image) and used an IRFZ44 for the MOSFET. In addition to these connections I have attached VCC and ground to the LM358 and a test circuit in place of the LD and I get no juice. (testing in mv across a 1 ohm resistor in the test circuit.)

A few confusing things about this schematic:
1. at the switch it has 12V marked. Do I also attach VCC here? (I think i tried that and smoked that resistor beside it)

2. I'm not certain I know how to properly read a POT in a schematic. I have the 6k8 only attached on the center and 1 side pin. On the 4k7 I have the center pin going to the pos of the op amp and the other 2 pins connected to the other POT and the cathode of the LED.

3. Not sure what value this LED needs to be. I tried replacing it with a diode to rule that out, but that may not help, or matter, I'm not sure.

4. Is there anywhere on this circuit that needs power or ground from the source? (other that the + - on the op amp)