Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

IR pumping diode replacement

Hi!
I built a laser pointer using DX "200mw" green laser module.
It was a good cheap laser and i paid it only 20 bucks.
Anyway, after trying to increase the current of the IR pumping diode,
i finally destroyed it :whistle: :cryyy:

Since i am a machinist and i can deal with no problem with small precision parts, i have a question for you:
Is it possible to replace the pumping diode with a new one?
Will it work a 500mw 5,6 mm 808 nm IR pumping diode?
I know that the IR diode will cost like a new DX laser module, but i am pretty sad to put my module in the trash :cryyy:

diachi

Hi!
I built a laser pointer using DX "200mw" green laser module.
It was a good cheap laser and i paid it only 20 bucks.
Anyway, after trying to increase the current of the IR pumping diode,
i finally destroyed it :whistle: :cryyy:

Since i am a machinist and i can deal with no problem with small precision parts, i have a question for you:
Is it possible to replace the pumping diode with a new one?
Will it work a 500mw 5,6 mm 808 nm IR pumping diode?
I know that the IR diode will cost like a new DX laser module, but i am pretty sad to put my module in the trash :cryyy:

Assuming the crystals sustained no damage from the increased pump power, then yes, it's possible to replace it. Is it worth it? Not so much... Wouldn't expect 200mW out with a 500mW pump either - best case is probably somewhere around ~150mW.

D

Deleted member 16589