Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Intending to buy a green laser

Hello. I'm new to laser business, and I'm interested in buying a green one.
After reading reviews, Iv'e pretty much took DX out of the list, since they don't tend to be up to specs, and because 0-like and Rayfoss have a really good customer service that's a safenet.
So I have a few questions :eek:

What's the difference between a torch and a normal pointer?
Looking at both sites I couldn't find a place that tells me if a laser has an IR filter, so where can I find out?
There's a huge variety, so can you please help me choose a laser for around 40$? It makes it even more confusing when I see 2 pointers in the same site, with the same output and an 8$ difference, or a torch on Rayfoss for 43$ and a torch on o-like for 26$.
Thanks in advance!

D

Deleted member 8382

for 40$, get 2 true 50mW lasers from dealextreme. Maybe they are 45mW, but at these price range you won't get more than 50mW anyway.

It's not the only the output that matters, but how the laser is build etc.

For instance, there are many cars with a 150CV motor, but all with diferent prices, you get me?

Yours,
Albert

Iv'e read what a torch type is, and I think this type fits me much more. Also, DX still seems a bit untrustable compared to o-like and Rayfoss. Also, I couldn't find torches on DX.
All the other questions except the first one still remain.

D

Deleted member 8382

there no IR filter at this price (you don't need it anyway).

trust me that DX is as trustable as rayfoss or O-like when it comes to service.

I see. But isn't a torch better regarding heat and durablity issues?
Also, why wouldn't I need an IR filter? Iv'e read that even 5mW lasers have dangerous levels of IR.

It's not really much of an issue at those power levels.