Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

I need Help DECREASING the mW of a home built Blue Laser pointer

Hello,
I'm fairly new to Laser's and I want to build a Blue Laser pointer, I bought the parts, but it's going to be about 150 mW and I would only want it to be about 30-50mW, What can I do to decrease it? can I use resistors? If so, which ones and how many??? You see, I want something for astronomy (I originally wanted to use a green but I couldn't figure it out) and 150mW is just over kill, I don't want to accidentally burn someones skin or anything.

Well, Thank you!!!:thanks:

chessmaster010

It all depends on what type of Blu-Ray (not BLUE) Laser Diode you are using...
and what type of LD driver you are using....

It is difficult to help you if all you say is "help"...

BTW...
Contrary to what some members may say... using the [Search] button
will allow you to access the tons of Laser Related information on the
Forum.

Jerry

Last edited:
Hey laserbee,

I'm sorry, Like I said, I'm still very new with lasers.
Here is what I'm getting:
HTML:
http://cgi.ebay.com/150mW-405nm-Blue-Violet-blu-ray-Laser-Diode-in-Module_W0QQitemZ170373006142QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item27ab05c33e&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

well, Thanks!

Hey hessmaster010...
There is an {s} in my LPF user Name....

LaserBee I is the copyright name of the product we sell (without the {s});)

Here is the link to your Laser Parts....

150mW 405nm Blue-Violet "blu-ray" Laser Diode in Module on eBay.ca (item 170373006142 end time 24-Aug-09 01:03:48 EDT)

As you can see on the listing... there is a BLUE rectangular part that is
a 10 turnPotentiometer...
that will allow you to adjust the output power of your Blu-Ray laser...

Of course you will not know the power you are adjusting it to..