Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

I have a 16x diode need advise

Hi, I am new to building lasers. I have been reading as much as I can, and trying get as much info as I can so I dont have to ask questions that are repetitive. But I need to ask, as I dont want to do this build wrong, and I wan the most power and efficiency that I can get from my laser diode. I have a host brinkman aluminum flashlight that I had laying around, LG 16x diode, I ordered an axiz housing, I have pc heatsink that I am modifying to fit the host with axiz housing, then I have several lith-ion batty's to get the 7.2-7.4 and up range ( 2x 14500's make 7.4, 15270's make 7.4 and more.) I make e-cig mods. So, I am working on the driver. I just want to build my own, but able to fit in my host so needs to be small and simple. I saw this:
LM317%20basic.jpg

can I use this setup? what would you change in this setup to get most power this diode can handle? I am doing it on the cheap as I have only spent $4 on the axiz housing, saving for my next laser build.

Thanks in advance. Like I said i don want to be repetitive, but I have been reading this site for a while and there is so much helpful info. After this build its on to a 1w blue. ( I know all safety precautions )

side note: I am having a hard time finding a 5ohm resistor at my local radio shack.......if above setup will work for me, is there an alternative to the 5ohm resistor???

Last edited: