Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

How to make a dirt cheep green laser into IR?

How noob am I?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
This is my first post. I have read the rules, and I have not found anything to answer my question. I am a super noob at lasers. I got my first laser last summer at walmart for $1.50 at the checkout.
Since then, I have purchased quite a few lasers. I have purchased quite a few cheap green lasers, because I can't get enough of them and they are cheap. They are ~5mW and they cost like 3 dollars each on amazon. I ordered 5. One has turned into *what I assume to be* an IR laser. It never fell or anything, but I held it up to my eye, and there is a tiny red dot inside, but it looks far away. (Nothing in that previous sentence was true.)
I looked at it through my phone camera, and it was very bright. I could shine it against a wall about 20 feet away in the dark, and I could see the dot with my phone.
My understanding is that the light originates in IR frequency. Its frequency is then reduced, and then doubled up to 532nm. I believe that these lasers have no filter on the IR, because of all the light that's escaping.
I have been reading that a 5mW laser is actually much higher without all the filters it goes through.
Is it possible for me to modify this laser so it produces light completely in the IR spectrum?
I saw some threads that switched out the diode or something, but I don't want to do that. I am not looking for anything high quality (obviously). I just want something bright, and possibly dangerous. Not an every day laser, just something to play with with a camera.
I am not an idiot, and I am confident that it won't find it's way into the neighbor's eyes. I just want to tinker with these things because there are so many.