Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

High Power Blue Laser Pointer Pen 450nm Burn Military Focus Visible Beam on eBay

CurtisOliver

LPF Site Supporter
Well a positive is, it isn't one of those cheap Chinese models. Also I can tell that he is using a M140 and the heatsink should be adequate for that type of diode for a short time only. The divergence seems a bit low for a M140 though, but others may be able to verify this if using a different lens. I used a g2 lens and had a divergence of 2-2.5mRad. He seems legit on first glance, but I have no experience with the seller. I would use a duty cycle anyway, as it will improve your diode lifetime. The most important question though is with you, what goggles have you got?

Last edited:

Sta

The item name sounds Chinese, but it isn't a normal Chinese host. Instead, some dullard decided to put an A-140/M-140 into an UltraFire AA flashlight. I do not think that heat sinking is sufficient for this diode.

Also, way overpriced. :D

Edit: hey, I'm a veteran now!

Last edited:

diachi

The price is rather steep (Compared to reputable Chinese manufacturers at least) and I don't see how that'd ever manage a continuous duty cycle without getting dangerously warm - 2-3 minutes should be OK though. Not the worst deal I've seen ... assuming the internal construction looks as good as the exterior anyway. Might be a member here that's selling it - does look like a hobbyist build.

Sanwu offers a 3W 445nm for slightly less: https://sites.google.com/site/hkfew5e22/Series/Spike

Seconded on everything there Curtis - especially goggles.

Last edited:

BowtieGuy

LPF Site Supporter
It may or may not be 2W, probably not. It's definitely not continuous duty in that size host, especially if it is close to 2W.