Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hi all! Sven from NL

Hi,

My name's Sven, and I'm a Dutch physics student working on finishing his masters degree. (Yes, optics-related ;) )

I generally think lasers are cool, and have built a small and simple laser-trigger for some drop / water splash photography in the past. Recently, I dismantled an old set of speakers and used lots of glue and some mirrors to make a very basic XY-scanner.

Generally, I have been looking around a bit on the forum for some time, and am wondering whether I have found another (smallish) hobby. I'll admit I'm not prepared to spend a lot of money (yet), but we'll see where it takes me :)

Sven

Welcome to LPF Sven :>)
Great place to learn about this addictive hobby. Have fun and poke around some more.

Hello Sven, lasers are no smallish hobby, if you don't want to spend a lot of money then run away now before its too late.

I hope you stay around though. We need more smart people here, especially scientists and engineers. Welcome to LPF.

Alan

Thanks both of you :)

lasers are no smallish hobby, if you don't want to spend a lot of money then run away now before its too late.

Too bad lasers aren't like my other hobby, photography. At least, that earns me a little bit of money I can spend on the hobby again!

Thanks both of you :)

Too bad lasers aren't like my other hobby, photography. At least, that earns me a little bit of money I can spend on the hobby again!

Well that is possible to do. A few members here do that, they sell laser parts and accessories or machine metal parts, or build and sell complete lasers. You could probably find some way to do that if you wanted to.

Alan

upaa27

Welcome Sven!