Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

hey guys! joe here

Hello all. I am new to the forum. I have posted a little when i first ordered a few lasers with some slight disapointments that i should have handled a little differently, so for that i apologize. Anyways my name is Joe, I am 29 years old from Portland Oregon USA. I have been into electronics since i was about 8. Rebuilding VCRS if anyone remembers those. But I then moved on to cars at the young age of 12 with my 72' valiant. which i still own. I am a fully ASE certified mechanic, and as many of you guys know the electronics in new cars these days is crazy. Because i was always working in dark places I needed a lot of random flashlights and light bars. So hand held light has been my thing for awhile. After going to a few outdoor "events" I found my self fully entertained and interested in lasers. I started with a few 5mW 532's and 405's!:san:

thats what im looking forward to and afraid of hehe. Ide love to build a laser one day. I'm really good at soldering and "making" things work if needed be. which is sometimes a good thing and sometimes not hehe. Ripping apart a dvd player or blu-ray player and retro fitting sounds like my kinda thing. Thanks for the welcome

Welcome!

Firstly, I recommend that you get some goggles, safety first!

I think the better way for you start DIY is with red lasers, the ones from DVD burners are great! Also you will learn better how a laser diode and the driver works! When you get comfortable with those, then you can start with 405 nm or 635 nm, and the more expensive 445 nm.

If you only wanna play around, I recommend 532nm too!

:beer:

Last edited: