Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

help with wiring

hello i know that i am going to get all of my laser parts for xmas
What i have (or getting)
-16x sony DVD diode
-laser diode driver kit (from stonetek .com)( 2"x2" PCB board, LM317, 2 10 Ohm Resistors, 1N4000 series Silicon Diode, 47uf 16v Capacitor, (2) sets of 6" lengths of two color wire, 24" Silver Solder, & 100 Ohm Pot
-aixiz mod.

thats it i am a little confused on wiring this baby i know that the bottom prong on the diode is the negitive and the right one is the positive
the only thing is that i am confused on is wiring the pot the the diode. i have looked at some schematics but i am new at those i just started using a bread board a while ago
so if some one could kindly post a detailed picture that would be great

D.

I suggest that you don't use a breadboard with this. Laser diodes are picky about intermittent power, and this circuit will fry the diode if the connection is broken even for a split second. Instead, bite the bullet and fully solder this one together.

As far as the pot is concerned, you wire one leg to the output pin of the LM317 and the other leg to the adjust pin of the LM317. The laser diode will connect between the adjust pin of the LM317 and the ground line. Your capacitor will be connected directly in parallel with the laser, too. I'm sorry, I don't have a picture at the moment, but I hope this helps.

Heres one that shows the actual components of it to make it easier..

(does anyone know how to put pictures without having to attach them?)

...lazer... ;D ;D ;D

Attachments

• prototype_001_001.jpg
    prototype_001_001.jpg
    145.7 KB · Views: 7,805