Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

help with D.I.Y laser

ok so im planning to build a laser (50mw) with
INDUSTRIAL/LAB 532nm Green Laser 50mW Diode Module DOT - eBay (item 120579645011 end time Aug-05-10 00:26:56 PDT) it LOOKS pretty straight forward but like many things ive done i know it isnt. I know you guys are just going to tell me to read the posts like "So you wanna build a green laser..." or "Do it Yourself Complete Green DPSS with O-like Crystals" but im a noob and have no idea what half of those words mean like DPSS or O crystals etc. I want to use two AA but AAA would be fine, i have a old 5mw cheap green laser case left over so i can use that. Can i make my own? Can someone assist me on how to build one? I have soldering experience and good with electronics im just really confused :thinking:,

Thanks! :D

Moptsp

With a module like that, it should be quite easy to put it together. You will need a host (you got one you say, assuming it fits) and a power source. On the page it says it runs on <350mA at 3.0V input. I assume the module already has the collimator lens. So it might be as simple as connecting the two wire leads to a power source. I can't however tell you if that is a replicable seller on ebay. You should wait for other responders to comment on that.

DPSS laser = Diode Pumped Solid State laser. It means it runs by an IR diode (what generates photons) that is partially converted to 532nm (green light) by crystals rather than a direct diode to lens assembly. They are made this way as green diodes have yet to be mass produced.

Good luck!

Kevlar

You mention you have solder experience and good with electronics but you don't mention anything about mechanical experience or resources for making/obtaining heatsinks.