Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Help needed for my first build

SN P

Hi all,

So I have decided to finally begin my first build after months of looking at custom builds and tutorials.

I want to make a laser that costs no more that $100 (as it is my first build)

So far I have thought about the following:

C6 Host - Survival Laser (http://www.survivallaserusa.com/DIY_C6_Host_Assembly/p1667092_7862087.aspx)

Focusing Ring - Survival Laser (http://www.survivallaserusa.com/Extended_Length_Focusing_Ring_-_Red_Anodized/p1667092_7862055.aspx)

650nm Diode - DTR (https://sites.google.com/site/dtrlpf/home/diodes/3-8mm-650nm-300mw-diode)

635-685nm Lens - Survival Laser (http://www.survivallaserusa.com/635-685nm_AR_Coated_Acrylic_Lens_Assembly/p1667092_7862060.aspx)

I have asked if DTR could include a diode driver with the above diode (Just as a precaution and for future reference, what diode driver would I need for this?).

Is there anything else that I am missing from this build?

Last edited:

SN P

Update: i am able to get the driver from DTR

Is there anything missing or any specific tools that I need?

IsaacT

I have a laser kit for sale right now. Would come with 3 diodes, a driver(but you need to check it), the host(a custom one), wire, a lens, and a lens spring. Everything you need. More importantly, the kit is only 68 if you send as gift. If you send as payment add 4%.

I say check the driver because I did not personally set it.

At any rate that could save you money. Check out my FS thread for more details(in the BST section).

Please post links with the Insert Link button. It makes it easier to follow. Otherwise it looks like you have
everything covered except the battery.

SN P