Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

[HELP] How can I fix my laser pointer?

I'm a newbie of laser pointer and just bought one from a China website. I got the problem I using it. The beam will separate to 2 beams and makes the power decreased. It's no warranty and not allow to replace or refund!
Anyone knows why it happen or how to fix it?

For detail please watch the videos below:
Since I'm a new newer and can't post a link, please copy and paste the following words after the youtube domain name to watch
watch?v=GH2u0osZIcw
watch?v=bgt2MRL8xgI

E

electricmonk9@aol.com

It sounds like your laser is "mode hopping". I may be wrong, but I think you are basically screwed. I think the only way to fix it would be to replace the module (in the case of green, blue, yellow) or replace the diode (red, most other colors).

You can read more information on mode-hopping (and other green laser issues) in the stickies in the "green lasers" section of the forum..

Many times this problem can be caused by using the cheap chinese batteries that come with the laser.. If you haven't already, try some fresh Duracells or any other well-known brand..

You are mode hopping. Several things can cause this but:

1. Put in new GOOD cells first.
2. If it's cold, warm it in your hand and see what it does. If worse, cool it in the refrigerator for a while.

These are the simple things to look for. Diode/crystal allignment is most likely beyond your mechanical abilities to fix. You can get a module from O-like and put that in there too but it will take some fitting.

Mike

i think the problem is related to the temperature since i'm using GP ReCyko batteries and the mode hopping problem only appear when it's warm.

what should i do in offer to fix it and how much it costs?