Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Help for a newbie... 250~350 mW red laser

OK, so I'm a complete noob when it comes to lasers, but I'm trying to build a working constant current driver using the diagram from this website: "Laser driver - It can be done". I've got a couple of issues though... 1) I harvested a laser diode out of a Philips SPD2513BD/17 DVD/CD Rewriter and I have no idea what the Wattage of the diode is. I looked a bunch of websites for the specs of the diode and the Rewriter itself. The reason I'm guessing this is a 250~350mW diode is because this website has some info on the stuff "Laser Diode Power Output Based on DVD-R/RW specs" and the DVD/CD Rewriter is x20 speed, so using the info from that site I guessed 250~350mW. 2)If that is the power of the diode wouldn't the CCD be too strong for the diode and blow it (again' I'm a newb with these things so any information is great)? And lastly... 3) I'm a bit confused... if the LM317 is a voltage regulator (the voltage the same) why is the driver a Constant Current Driver?

I left two pics of the diode I'm hoping to use if that helps...
Thanks for the help and this is my first post so tell me what i can improve,
LD (LazerDragon not Laser Diode):yh::p:yh::p:yh::p

Attachments

• IMG_0169.JPG
    IMG_0169.JPG
    359.3 KB · Views: 324
  • IMG_0172.JPG
    IMG_0172.JPG
    358 KB · Views: 299

IsaacT

What you have there is an open can 650nm laser diode, so yes it should be able to run off of 250-300mA. the LM317 will allow you to set the current by soldering resistor(s) in between the Adjust pin and the V-out pin. I don't know too much about Electronics(yet), but I have made a ton of LM317 Drivers.

Since R=E/I, where R is resistance, E is Voltage, and I is current, and the LM317 uses 1.25V: