Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Help choosing first laser(s)

spark

Hi guys, I am new to the laser world and I have always wanted to get a laser since I was a little kid. When I was 13 I asked my parents for a laser but they said it was dangerous and told me to wait until I was older to get one.

Fast forward 4 years, and I am 17 now and finally ready to become a laser owner. My parents have agreed to allow me to purchase 2 lasers for my graduation present this year.

So, if you expert laser enthusiasts would help me choose my first 2 lasers that would be much appreciated!

Since I am new I will not be getting lasers of that high power, so I would like a laser that is 5mW and one that is 50mW. Color of the laser is not much of importance to me but I would prefer if it were green or blue. However, I am kind of picky about the appearance of the laser, and would prefer if one was chrome. I would like both of them to be pen-shaped.

I have also have a few questions to anyone that can help me:

1.) I have read that there are legal issues in the U.S. with lasers >5mW. Would there be any trouble buying a 50mW and getting it shipped to Florida?

2.) Since I am an absolute beginner in lasers, would it be difficult to assemble a laser on my own? I know for a fact I would like to build one someday, should I gain a little knowledge before attempting?

Thank you guys at LPF, I hope you guys can get me started in lasers!

John

Things

If you want a really good, sleek, high quality 5mW green pointer, have a look at the Core from Wicked Lasers. It's probably the only laser they make that's worth looking at, it's a great little laser.