Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hello from Wales :)

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum after trying to find mods that can be done to laser pens.
I am a 3d artist from the UK and have recently been looking into 3d scanning. I have been looking around for a cheap but decent line laser to scan with.
I have heard that people have been modding normal laser pointers to create a horizontal line which is the effect i'm looking for. Does anybody have any info on this or know where i can buy a cheap line laser from anywhere (or if anyone wants to sell an old one? )
I'm looking for a green one because they scan better apparantly but red also works.

Thanks
-Mac

Morgan

Hi to a valley dweller and welcome to the forum! :wave:

There are a number of places to get line generating optics or modules. There's a UK based company called Odicforce that has some line generating optics here - Optical Components and Diode Holders - Items - OdicForce Lasers Online Shop

I hope this helps and that you stick around for all the other cool stuff and info here. Check out the stickies and rules and have a good look round.

Enjoy your stay!

M
:)

ah never seen that site before. pretty fair prices too. Is there any way to mod a pointer to create a line at all. I've read and seen some images of people doing it but didn't say how :S
also if i purchased a laser pointer and a laser line module could i swap over the modules? or is it not that easy?? haha I really am a n00b when it comes to this.

and agra i do speak a very little bit but english is my native tongue.

Thanks
-Mac

Morgan

I can see it now.... Lasermeet in.... "RHYLL!". Oooh, that'll be nice then!

Back to the question...