Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hello from the Olympic Peninsula

Akeyla

Well I thought I ought to introduce myself, as I search through posts I often see "post in the welcome forum first" so although it's not my first post it's a start in the right direction I think.

The short and skinny, I'm 33 and live up in the Olympic Peninsula, about 50 miles west of Seattle. I do computer work for a living, from service to networking and routing.

I'd say I first really got interested in lasers when I was given a green laser pointer at a job of mine, if I recall that was 2007-2008ish so I don't think it was too cheap at the time. After leaving that job, and keeping that laser, I took it apart and cranked up the pot. Thing got bright, nice visible beam. Had that little laser for years, don't know what happened to it, lost it somewhere around 2010 but I digress. About that time frame I started to notice the blue lasers from Wicked Lasers and while I drooled over them I (thankfully) never pulled the trigger to purchase one. After that it was out of sight out of mind.

Several months ago I stumbled back upon WL and their balloon popping videos and started to do more googling, which led here, to LPF. Here I found a massive list of reasons to not purchase from WL and members who were friendly and who sold their own builds. So I picked up a 1.3W 445, and glasses, for less than I had expected to pay elsewhere. That blue laser was magic for about two months until (don't ask . . .) I ripped the copper aixiz module out of the aluminum heatsink (C6 host) including tearing the leads off the diode. BUT this was also the start of my learning as I decided my broken laser was not dead but just needed some love. A couple PM's and some solder later I'm back in action.