Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hello from Colorado

Hello Everyone!
My name is Mike, I am from the sunny mountains of Colorado! I am new to LPF as well as to this world of lasers in general.

For years I have been using a Walmart bought red dot laser pointer for night time photography. It's hard to get your subject in focus at night so I use a laser to help me out. If you are shooting, lets say a tree for example, and need that tree to be in focus - shine your laser on the tree, focus on the dot and since the dot and the tree are at the same distance away, your tree is now in focus!

Anyway, after burning through little red laser after little red laser, I decided to check online to see if there was anything out there a little more reliable.

What I found was a whole world of lasers of different sizes, powers, and colors! Not knowing a thing about good companies or quality of lasers, I decided to go with a 30mW 532nm from laserpointerpro.com because the price was right. The distance I could get with that laser allowed me to photograph subjects much further away than my little red laser did. It was amazing, I couldn't believe what I had been missing!

The laser worked well for awhile, but eventually died just like all of my little red ones (I had no idea about duty cycles until now - probably why they died :p). Going back online I did a little more research and eventually found lazerer.com. I ordered a 100mW 532nm and some goggles this time (which should be coming in the mail this week!) But in my search I was also looking for laser reviews and stumbled upon this forum.