Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hello from Chicago

Hello all,

Greetings from Chicago!
I have been lurking here for a while now and there is a tremendous amount of info to be found on this site- really everything one needs to know if they take the time to look.
Everyone that I have interacted with here have been great so far...I am sure that will continue.
I really appreciate the emphasis on safety that pervades here. I am a telecom engineer by trade that has had to go thru laser safety training so I understand the need to respect these devices considering the damage they can cause in such a short period of time (in no time at all, actually).
I am looking to make my first serious laser purchase soon which I hope to be a 532 CNI @ 500mW or 800mW. If it should go thru I plan to get in on the next GB that bloompyle is now trying to put together. I know that is rather powerful for my first serious hand-held laser (had a <5mW 532 laserer which recently stopped working), but I do undrstand the risks based on job experience as well as from all of the links about saftey that I have read here.
Have a good weekend folks and thanks to those who have welcomed me so far:beer:

Phil

Reactions: ARG

Welcome to the forum, Phil.

There is a lot of laser fun to be had between 5mW and an 800mW 532nm or a 1+W 445nm :) I would recommend peeling off some of the money you plan on sending to CNI and grabbing a great set of safety glasses. Also consider doing business with one of the artisan laser craftsman that live on these forums. There are some amazing builders that can help you find a laser that excites you at a great price and excellent build construction. I dare say some of the duty cycles and quality you find here are better than you'll find in a handheld bought from a lab shop.