Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hello from Chicago

Hello all,

Allow me to introduce myself: my username is firelight, though those who know me call me Nick. I'm in the chicagoland area, and I'm new to the forum. Now that we have that out of the way, I'll give you a bit of info on me before I expect anyone to share information. I'm a college student, and I'm a physics major. I plan on becoming a physics teacher someday, and I love the field, I wish more than anything to spread the love I have for such an applicable science. Needless to say, I spend a good amount of time working with lasers, diffraction gratings, beam splitters, interferometers, ect in my lab work. I have always been fascinated by lasers, maybe that's part of the reason I became a physics major, though mainly, I just like taking things apart and learning how they work. There is the typical spread of engineers, mechanics and IT people in my family, so I'm not unfamiliar with mechanical, electronic, and other types of hands on work. With studies in physics, I am fairly familiar with how lasers physically operate, as well as proper safety procedures. After some time it occurred to me that maybe there was a market of laser hobbyists out there, which prompted me to go looking. I have some low power low quality lasers I have purchased and tinkered with online, though nothing serious.